Archive for December, 2020

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab

December 29, 2020

[Tricia]

With elements of historical fiction and fantasy, and a strong and compelling female protagonist — this book was right up my alley. It tells the story of Addie LaRue, who lives in a small town in France in the early 1700s. She yearns for a life of adventure and independence, but as she has no say in her own life decisions, she is set to be married. In desperation she runs off to escape the life she doesn’t want, and begs the ancient gods for freedom. As it turns dark, one of the dark gods answers her plea and she ends up trading her soul for freedom and immortality. However, she soon realizes that this freedom comes with the devastating price that no one will ever remember her. As someone who loved to draw, she is no longer able to make so much as a mark with chalk, and is unable to speak her own name or tell her own story. The ways in which she manages to survive and navigate the parameters of her curse, are really compelling. It’s gritty and hard, but she continually chooses to go on and create a life for herself rather than surrendering her soul. There are elements of romance, both with Luc, the demon who has cursed her, and with Henry, the first one who remembers her after 300 years, but the story remains Addie’s, with the focus on her need to tell her story and make a mark in whatever way she can. If you enjoyed The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, or Life After Life by Kate Atkinson, you might give this one a try. I really enjoyed it.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is available at the Library and on Libby/Overdrive.

Title details for The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab - Wait list

Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey and No Time Like the Future by Michael J. Fox

December 28, 2020

[Patti]

I have always been mainly a fiction reader, with only an occasional nonfiction that caught my eye.
In the last two months, I have read two – Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey, and No Time Like the Future by Michael J. Fox. Both are memoirs written by two well known personalities. McConaughey, with his cool attitude, reveals much of his life from pre-entertainment industry days, right up to current times. It was very easy to follow along with his “alright, alright, alright” approach to life. Fox has dealt with Parkinson’s Disease for many decades. In his latest book, he reveals the struggles he has had dealing with the challenges of
surgeries, rehab, etc, on top of P.D. At times funny and intimate, you know he will never give up.
They are both entertaining, and give the reader a look into two very different lives. I really enjoyed both. Greenlights is available at the Library and on Libby/Overdrive. No Time Like the Future is available at the Library and on Libby/Overdrive.

Title details for Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey - Wait list
Title details for No Time Like the Future by Michael J. Fox - Wait list

20 Titles of 2020 (Print edition)

December 22, 2020

[SAM]

I said it last year, and while a lot of things have changed, this particular sentiment of mine has not. So let me state once again that I’m not a big fan of creating best of lists, because I’m far too literal a person to declare anything “the best of 2020.” That being said, I have read all kinds of really wonderful books published this year. And I’ve read them in many of different formats. In this post I’ll focus on books we have physical copies of in the library, and in the next one I’ll do a round up of some 2020 favorites from overdrive and Hoopla. So as we head into the new year, here are 20 of my favorite titles published in 2020.

Young Adult Books

Just a boy and a girl in a little canoe by Sarah Mlynowski

The gravity of us by Phil Stamper

You should see me in a crown by Leah Johnson

Yes no maybe so by Becky Albertalli & Aisha Saeed

The voting booth by Brandy Colbert

Mind the gap, Dash & Lily by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

10 things I hate about Pinky by Sandhya Menon

Nonfiction

She came to slay : the life and times of Harriet Tubman by Erica Armstrong Dunbar

Lifting as we climb : black women’s battle for the ballot box by Evette Dionne

True or false : a CIA analyst’s guide to spotting fake news by Cindy L. Otis.

Big friendship : how we keep each other close by Aminatou Sow, Ann Friedman.

Why we’re polarized / Ezra Klein

Kids Books

Kenzie kickstarts a team by Kit Rosewater

Ice breaker : how Mabel Fairbanks changed figure skating by Rose Viña

Finish the fight! : the brave and revolutionary women who fought for the right to vote by Veronica Chambers 

Comics

Primer : a superhero graphic novel written by Jennifer Muro & Thomas Krajewski

Check, Please! 2 : Sticks & Scones by Ngozi  Ukazu

Drawing the vote : an illustrated guide to voting in America by Tommy Jenkins 

Fiction

Party of two by Jasmine Guillory

Party of Two: Guillory, Jasmine: 9780593100813: Amazon.com: Books

Poetry

Everything comes next : collected and new poems  by Naomi Shihab Nye

Everything Comes Next: Collected and New Poems: Nye, Naomi Shihab:  9780063013452: Amazon.com: Books

I Was Told It Would Get Easier by Abbi Waxman

December 17, 2020

[Mary-Ellen]

This fun and sometimes insightful story is told from the perspective of Jessica and Emily Burnstein, a mother and daughter taking a week-long organized bus tour of east coast colleges. While most would probably enjoy this book, anyone who has raised a teenage daughter would definitely relate to it, as well as anyone who has had to navigate the daunting and stressful college admissions process in recent years. This book is available from the Library.

I Was Told It Would Get Easier by Abbi Waxman

Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris

December 4, 2020

[Marcia]

This is a fascinating story about a survivor from Auschwitz who was convicted of working with the Nazis by the Russians who released them from captivity and sent her to Siberia for a 13 year sentence.  The story reverts back periodically to her years in Auschwitz so the reader really is there with her and her struggles to survive. You can find Cilka’s Journey at the Library, as an audiobook on Hoopla, and as an ebook and audiobook on Libby/Overdrive.

Title details for Cilka's Journey by Heather Morris - Wait list

Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

December 1, 2020

[Tricia]

I try to remember not to read the first book in a trilogy when it comes out, because I know there will be such a long wait to read the other installments. But I did it anyway, again, with Black Sun, the first in the Between Earth and Sky trilogy, and I’m really glad I did. This is a fantasy novel inspired by the cultures of pre-Columbian Americas, and it is full of magic and adventure, a prophecy revolving around an eclipse during the solstice, memorable characters, diversity of representation, and it is thoroughly enjoyable. There are multiple storylines, and I was particularly taken with the Xiala and Serapio one. This is a great choice for fans of N.K. Jemison, Julianna Baggott and Charlie Jane Anders. Black Sun is available at the Library

book cover of Black Sun